Last DirectX 9 SDK for Windows 2000?

Discuss Windows 2000, NT, XP and Windows Server 2000, 2003, SBS 2003.
Omicron

Last DirectX 9 SDK for Windows 2000?

Post by Omicron »

I am a bit new to working with DirectX, and I will be developing a program that will use the DirectInput and DirectSound functionality of DX 9.0c. However, my goal for this program is for it to work with Windows 2000 and up via VS2010 (which seems to generate Win2000 friendly executables.)

It looks like the most recent version of the DirectX SDK offered has libraries that work with XP and upward though. Therefore, any programs compiled/linked against it will simply not run under 2000. Is just what Microsoft is saying?

The DX SDK also seems to only work with x86 and x64 (what the libraries were compiled for.) Was there ever a DirectX SDK version that can support IA64 as well?

Thanks, and sorry for the almost trivial sounding nature of this question (I am fairly new to this.)

MSUser2013
Donator

Re: Last DirectX 9 SDK for Windows 2000?

Post by MSUser2013 »

Try any DirectX SDK from June 2010 or earlier. I believe anything from that time period would be old enough to work. By searching for "DirectX SDK 2010" you can find a Softpedia Link.
Omicron wrote:Was there ever a DirectX SDK version that can support IA64 as well?
Not that I'm aware of, Considering IA64 was never meant for gaming or game development.

Omicron

Post by Omicron »

MSUser2013 wrote:Try any DirectX SDK from June 2010 or earlier. I believe anything from that time period would be old enough to work. By searching for "DirectX SDK 2010" you can find a Softpedia Link.
Omicron wrote:Was there ever a DirectX SDK version that can support IA64 as well?
Not that I'm aware of, Considering IA64 was never meant for gaming or game development.