Some games from Win8 DP Build 8102

Discussion of beta and abandonware topics not fit for the other forums goes here.
CabaProductions
Location: Somewhere in the island that is formerly a U.S. colony.

Some games from Win8 DP Build 8102

Post by CabaProductions »

Here some of game apps taken from Windows 8 Developer Preview Build 8102.

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=6 ... DAF%212450 - Labyrinth
https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=6 ... DAF%212449 - Zero Gravity

To play it, you need a Visual Studio to deploy and run those apps and probably you need some recoding before you do this.

BTW, I'm not a programmer or developer, I got this when I extracted 8102's install.wim months ago to find cool music from "Labyrinth".
*This account is on hiatus mode*

nedvire

Re: Some games from Win8 DP Build 8102

Post by nedvire »

Wow, I forgot about Labyrinth! I loved that game! While I was playing it I got very good news (personal news) which makes this a memory for me. Thank you for both reasons!

computebrute
Donator

Post by computebrute »

How would you play these?

Goldfish64
Donator

Post by Goldfish64 »

computebrute wrote:How would you play these?
To start, they need to packed up using makeappx, signed, and installed. Unfortunately, they won't run without changes as the APIs changed quite a bit between the developer preview, consumer preview, and RTM.

They will start after some manifest changes, even on Windows 10. Here's Labyrinth:
Labyrinth starts but just sits there.

Zero Gravity:
The splash screen is all that is shown before the app crashes due to a missing Run() method on the Application class.

I have no knowledge of WinJS so I can't fix Labyrinth. I should be able to repair Zero Gravity as it is written in C# and tools like ILSpy can decompile it. The XAML files aren't compiled so those could be used as is.

EDIT: Zero Gravity fixed with Windows 8 RTM APIs and works on Windows 10: