BetaArchive Logo
Archive Size: 0TB (0TiB) in N/A files
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 14h, 4m | CPU: 30% | MEM: 4713MB of 12279MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Builds with full DWM And How To Enable It        Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 4:06 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:28 am

Posts
44

Location
Australia
Builds with full DWM
All Beta 1 and higher builds
5048 (M9)
4074 (M7)
3718 (M3)

All other builds have one or more parts of DWM, however it is usually just GPU rendered windows.

How to enable DWM for each milestone

Beta 1
Enabled by default if hardware is compatible

5048
c:\windows\system32\rundll32.exe c:\windows\system32\udwm.dll DwmClientStartup

4083
c:\windows\system32\rundll32.exe c:\windows\system32\user32.dll DwmStartup

4074
c:\windows\i386\sbctl.exe start

4029, 4033

c:\windows\system32\rundll32.exe c:\windows\system32\user32.dll DceStartup
c:\windows\i386\sbctl.exe dcestart
c:\windows\i386\sbctl.exe wmgstart

4039
%windir%\i386\sbctl.exe start

4008, 4015
c:\windows\system32\rundll32.exe c:\windows\system32\user32.dll DceStartup

3706, 3718
Choose "Enable DCE" in Display Properties "Advanced" window


Enable Glass Effects (4074, 5048)
Run RegEdit

Navigate to:
HKLM>Software>Microsoft>Windows>CurrentVersion>Explorer

Create 2 new dword keys and give them both a value of 1:

MILDesktop
MILExplorer

Other DWORD keys for DWM (M9+)
HKLM>Software>Microsoft>DWM> (HKCU>Software>Microsoft>DWM>)

Glass - Boolean that controls whether or not 'Aero Glass' (highest premium tier) is enabled. Set Metal to 0 when using.
Metal - Boolean that controls whether or not 'Aero Express' (lowest premium tier) is enabled. Set Glass to 0 when using.
UseAlternateButtons - Boolean that controls whether or not to use the alternative window button styling (new smaller icons)
ScaleXPercent - Integer (self-explanatory)
ScaleYPercent - Integer (self-explanatory)
AnimationsShiftKey - Boolean that controls whether animations feature slow motion mode when shift key is held down


Disable hardware check for DWM
HKLM>Software>Microsoft>DWM>

DWORD EnableMachineCheck = 0

_________________
Image


Last edited by wrapa on Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:02 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 4:53 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Nice guide, I think I'll sticky it :)

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:10 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
Neat trick

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:53 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1010

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS X 10.5
Very Nice Guide!

Great post!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:45 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1448

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
I havent tryed 4093 yet but i think it has a full DWM too. Or not? :?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 7:11 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1916

Location
New Zealand
i think it is missing some files that are required


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 1:37 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
551
There is no sbctl.exe in 4093 so you can't enable it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 3:24 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1916

Location
New Zealand
could it be copied from 4074 or another build that has it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 3:35 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1448

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Propably yes. Its not very different than 4074 just some components missing (corruped leak or MS kicked some things from this build out?). Propably all missing files/bmps/anything another can be fixed from the 4074 build and everything shoud work as well...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:25 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
161

Location
Melbourne, Australia
thanks for the great tweaks, though for some reason the DWM wont work properly when i open an explorer window on 4074


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 9:25 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1916

Location
New Zealand
blame that on being an alpha :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:33 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
161

Location
Melbourne, Australia
oh well im gonna try skin vista to longhorn look anyway :)
and theres already some people who know how to resize the taskbar so the longhorn sidebar can work under vista, but no-ones released it yet because its still young in development


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:36 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1916

Location
New Zealand
i would be interested in a Plex glass theme for vista, Plex is just a good theme :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:44 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3615
Agreed. I like it as well. It's a pity that MS scrapped it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Builds with full DWM And How To Enable It        Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:27 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1120

Location
Germany
wrapa wrote:
3706, 3718
Choose "Enable DCE" in Display Properties "Advanced" window


What graphics card is needed for this effects? In a VM I don't see those effects, even if I activate it.

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:50 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:46 am

Posts
59
Thanks for your guide,I'll try it later.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Builds with full DWM And How To Enable It        Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 8:11 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1916

Location
New Zealand
Luckie wrote:
wrapa wrote:
3706, 3718
Choose "Enable DCE" in Display Properties "Advanced" window


What graphics card is needed for this effects? In a VM I don't see those effects, even if I activate it.

im pretty sure any dx8 graphics card would work, but it is an alpha so you never know


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:02 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3615
Weren't at least the effects in 4074 also usable with a DX7 card? So I suppose 3718's are usable with a DX7 one as well.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Builds with full DWM And How To Enable It        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:29 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1120

Location
Germany
___ wrote:
Luckie wrote:
wrapa wrote:
3706, 3718
Choose "Enable DCE" in Display Properties "Advanced" window


What graphics card is needed for this effects? In a VM I don't see those effects, even if I activate it.

im pretty sure any dx8 graphics card would work, but it is an alpha so you never know


I tried it on my Radeon 9500Pro and enableing the DEC-effects causes that disabling the mouse-pointer, so I don't see where to click.

And the 4074 is so buggy. After nabling the DWM I don't see the Content of a Window, only the animation when minimizing/maximazing the Window.

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:47 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3615
Quote:
And the 4074 is so buggy. After nabling the DWM I don't see the Content of a Window, only the animation when minimizing/maximazing the Window.

Did you check if installing the Longhorn 4074 ULTRA Edition patch (available on AeroXP in the Longhorn tweaks thread, it's the download link on page #4) contains some fixes for that? Besides that, I think 4074 is one of the best Longhorn builds.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:47 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2458
empireum wrote:
Weren't at least the effects in 4074 also usable with a DX7 card? So I suppose 3718's are usable with a DX7 one as well.


If that's true, someone should try getting them going in VMware using that "Experimental 3D support" thing or whatever it's called - I tried it with Vista but it didn't offer me Aero, as I think only a DX8 card is emulated, Aero needing DX9. I would try it but I don't have those builds installed any more, and the old ones take forever to install in a virtual machine :(

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:05 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1120

Location
Germany
empireum wrote:
Quote:
And the 4074 is so buggy. After nabling the DWM I don't see the Content of a Window, only the animation when minimizing/maximazing the Window.

Did you check if installing the Longhorn 4074 ULTRA Edition patch (available on AeroXP in the Longhorn tweaks thread, it's the download link on page #4) contains some fixes for that? Besides that, I think 4074 is one of the best Longhorn builds.


I tried this and so stress begins :cry: This build is so buggy :P :P

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:20 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3615
Luckie wrote:
empireum wrote:
Quote:
And the 4074 is so buggy. After nabling the DWM I don't see the Content of a Window, only the animation when minimizing/maximazing the Window.

Did you check if installing the Longhorn 4074 ULTRA Edition patch (available on AeroXP in the Longhorn tweaks thread, it's the download link on page #4) contains some fixes for that? Besides that, I think 4074 is one of the best Longhorn builds.


I tried this and so stress begins :cry: This build is so buggy :P :P

Well, it's an Alpha after all, isn't it? :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:45 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1120

Location
Germany
empireum wrote:
Well, it's an Alpha after all, isn't it? :wink:


yeah, but the aphas till 4008 run great, all later Builds are buggy. On joejoe.org several Kiddies want to Reload this Build and wanto to make it "usefull" :roll: :roll:

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:54 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3615
Luckie wrote:
empireum wrote:
Well, it's an Alpha after all, isn't it? :wink:


yeah, but the aphas till 4008 run great, all later Builds are buggy. On joejoe.org several Kiddies want to Reload this Build and wanto to make it "usefull" :roll: :roll:

Yeah, I've stumbled upon that. Pretty pointless effort IMHO. I've yet to install 5048 once more to see if it's as buggy. At least it's baed on W2K3... But I remember that really a lot of stuff was missing.

PS: Do you happen to know which was the last 5xxx build still called "Windows Code Name Longhorn"? And which was the first build called Vista? I've seen screenshots of 5112, some say Longhorn, some say Vista Beta 1 :? :? :?


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2014

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS