BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 12d, 0h, 21m | CPU: 10% | MEM: 5561MB of 12279MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:37 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 05, 2012 5:45 pm

Posts
445

Location
Blackpool, UK

Favourite OS
iOS 3.1.2
Hey gais,

I was wondering how I could install 4074 in a VirtualBox VM, since i've never tested longhorn before.

_________________
Image
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:37 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:28 pm

Posts
4404
Just install it. Set the OS type to XP.

_________________
Longhorn Packet 1.21 - Solves most of the problems with Longhorn Setup
[GUIDE] How to dump clean/untouched images from CD discs
Longhorn Music Album (FLAC) | 523.31 MB | 17 tracks | Donators Discussion Forum


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:53 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:11 am

Posts
3094

Location
Italy

Favourite OS
Windows, OS/2, DOS
and make sure you use VMware, it's more compatible with Longhorn builds than VirtualBox is.

_________________
http://www.theoswebgallery.webnode.it


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:07 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 05, 2012 5:45 pm

Posts
445

Location
Blackpool, UK

Favourite OS
iOS 3.1.2
So I installed it, rebooted it and get an odd screen where there is a black line on the top, nothing underneath, and put side by side 20 times. Graphics fault, maybe? I dunno.

_________________
Image
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:13 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:28 pm

Posts
4404
mycomputerhelp wrote:
So I installed it, rebooted it and get an odd screen where there is a black line on the top, nothing underneath, and put side by side 20 times. Graphics fault, maybe? I dunno.


Yeah, it's a known bug in VirtualBox 4.
Try to blindly install Guest Additions.

_________________
Longhorn Packet 1.21 - Solves most of the problems with Longhorn Setup
[GUIDE] How to dump clean/untouched images from CD discs
Longhorn Music Album (FLAC) | 523.31 MB | 17 tracks | Donators Discussion Forum


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:43 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:47 pm

Posts
434

Favourite OS
2600
Do not use VirtualBox, really.
Great software, I love it, but it's not good for Longhorn.
You've been lucky to get to install it without troubles, I experienced the graphic bug during install too.
I used QEMU, poor performances, but it works.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:09 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:48 pm

Posts
282

Location
guess it

Favourite OS
whistler2296
Try VMware with Workstation 6 or 7 compatibility and it should work fine. Many Whistler and Longhorn builds display terribly in my VirtualBox.

_________________
Intel i3 330M @2.13GHz/Intel HM55/8192MB DDR3 1066MHz/AMD HD 5650M/Hitachi 750GB SATA II 5400 rpm


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:37 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 05, 2012 5:45 pm

Posts
445

Location
Blackpool, UK

Favourite OS
iOS 3.1.2
This is a list of VM programs that I have:
VMware Workstation 8
VMware Fusion 4
VirtualBox Linux
Parallels Desktop 7

Would any of them work?

_________________
Image
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:51 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:48 pm

Posts
282

Location
guess it

Favourite OS
whistler2296
I have the build in VMware Workstation 8 and works pretty fine. It's OK to keep the compatibility to Workstation 8 but in this mode the installation would boot for a long time, hence I choose lower compatibility mode for it.

_________________
Intel i3 330M @2.13GHz/Intel HM55/8192MB DDR3 1066MHz/AMD HD 5650M/Hitachi 750GB SATA II 5400 rpm


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:19 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:25 pm

Posts
1545

Location
Fanculo (anche conosciuto come Quel Paese)
Just use any VMWare Workstation/Player.
Make sure you don't use SCSI for your VHD.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 2:15 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 05, 2012 5:45 pm

Posts
445

Location
Blackpool, UK

Favourite OS
iOS 3.1.2
yeah, it took a while to boot and there's no mouse, but who cares?

_________________
Image
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 2:54 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:48 pm

Posts
282

Location
guess it

Favourite OS
whistler2296
It takes nearly 3 minutes to boot to "Welcome to Windows Setup" with Workstation 8 or 6.5-7.x mode, while only 20 seconds with 6.0 compatibility. Mouse works here in any mode above.

_________________
Intel i3 330M @2.13GHz/Intel HM55/8192MB DDR3 1066MHz/AMD HD 5650M/Hitachi 750GB SATA II 5400 rpm


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:15 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:13 pm

Posts
567

Location
Wolverhampton, England

Favourite OS
Arch Linux, Win 8.1, OS X 10.9
I'm posting this under Longhorn 4074 inside VMware Workstation 8 (VMware Player's equivalent will do too as VMware Player is pretty much the same without advanced features like Snapshots.)

Image

Make a new VM, call it what you want, set the OS to Windows XP Professional. Disable BIOS date sync because we'll be installing VMware tools, too, but to boot into Longhorn we must change the BIOS date.

As CaptainPeanut said, don't use SCSI for the virtual hard drive connection. VMware defaults to SCSI under Vista and 7 AFAIK, but anything before that defaults to IDE. I did this mistake on a physical machine. Windows XP has the same problem except you can fix it quite easily by slipstreaming SATA drivers.

Do the installation and boot into Longhorn. Make sure your BIOS date isn't sneakily changed by VMware Workstation.
When you've booted into Longhorn, you'll need to get rid of that timebomb (to show correct date). I have a patched Winlogon.exe for said build (by a BA member, unsure who it is) and a file replacer bundled in one ISO if you want it, just ask because I don't think BA will let me post it publicly regarding cracks.

When you've patched it, restart, change your BIOS date to today and boot. Shouldn't boot you off this time. Make a snapshot of this. Very important if you want to go back in time to when you patched it.
Get VMware Tools for Workstation 6 (Workstation 8 drivers will not work) and install as normal. It may take a while because Longhorn is slow at first.

When it's finally installed, make another snapshot, then restart. Again, shouldn't boot you off the desktop and to the login screen. VMware Tools will take a while, but not too long, to prepare itself and, well, work. At first you'll get an error telling you to upgrade VMware Tools, ignore it. VMware Tools in the 4074 VM will show a "No sign" in front of its icon, then will show a caution icon. When it gets to the caution icon, it'll allow you to resize the VM screen.

And you have a near-perfect Longhorn build! This build's version of IE has a download manager that doesn't work (on me) so download Firefox or Opera (Opera is recommended) on the host and drag it to the VM (it will work.) Change the compatibility mode of Opera's installer to Windows XP and you have a perfect browser, too.

Sorry for the long as hell post, too. :P And thank Microsoft Collection Book for the links. An awesome site, I'd say.

_________________
Mostly inactive here, but I'm gonna try posting more here.
My Anime List so you can see my bad taste in anime.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:38 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6392

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Windows XP wrote:
Make a new VM, call it what you want, set the OS to Windows XP Professional. Disable BIOS date sync because we'll be installing VMware tools, too, but to boot into Longhorn we must change the BIOS date.


Actually, just to point out, this isn't necessary for 4074. In this build, the timebomb is a standard 180-day one, rather than a date-limited one (possibly because it was a public build).

_________________
You can contact me through a PM on AthemeNet, or by highlighting me on #nttalk.
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:10 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 24, 2012 2:35 pm

Posts
334

Location
Hong Kong

Favourite OS
Ubuntu 12.10 Alpha 2
1. Don't install it in Oracle VM VirtualBox, the graphics driver will kill it.
2. Windows Longhorn Builds 4074 and after don't need to change the BIOS date. Instead you should figure out how to remove the timebomb, and how to activate it (remove the activation things).
3. Install it in VMWare Workstation 8, it works fine there. Go for it.
4. If you are running x64 version, set the OS to Windows XP Professional x64.
5. Don't install VMWare Tools, it doesn't work for me.

_________________
Windows ME: Crap! Windows XP: Awesome! Windows Vista: Crap! Windows 7: Awesome! Windows 8: (Crap!) (c) 2012 smartboyhw
My Blog
Windows ISO's Forum Administrator


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 7:38 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:25 pm

Posts
1545

Location
Fanculo (anche conosciuto come Quel Paese)
mycomputerhelp wrote:
yeah, it took a while to boot and there's no mouse, but who cares?

>Betas take some time to boot
>4074 had a broken mouse driver in the Preinstallation Environment.
>Your sarcasm is disturbing

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:02 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 05, 2012 5:45 pm

Posts
445

Location
Blackpool, UK

Favourite OS
iOS 3.1.2
I got it working (finally!) I managed to get it up in Parallels Desktop 7!

_________________
Image
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
4088

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
Personally, in my experience, Microsoft Virtual PC is excellent for older Longhorn builds, not to mention that in that setup, I have run Longhorn successfully, numerous times, yet VMWare doesn't quite work that well, at least not on my system (2.2 Ghz processor with 2 GB of RAM), though hounsell seems to think that VMWare needs a much more powerful system.

In other words, if VMWare works properly on your system, then use that, and if not, then just go with Microsoft Virtual PC.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Question] How may I install Longhorn 4074 in a VM?        Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:51 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6392

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
WinPC wrote:
hounsell seems to think that VMWare needs a much more powerful system.


Not a "much more powerful system", just not a total turd.

I've been using VMWare since I had a Sempron 64 and 512MB RAM.

Virtual PC is just far less capable of using greater resources than VMWare, which does the job rather well.

With Longhorn, there's some HAL incompatibilities sometimes - Hit F5 at boot (around where it asks you to hit F6 for additional storage controllers), and you'll be able to select the HAL. "Standard PC" or whatever it is, is most compatible (ie, non-ACPI, non-Multiprocessor). That should get most builds going on even the latest VMWare.

_________________
You can contact me through a PM on AthemeNet, or by highlighting me on #nttalk.
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2014

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS