BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 16h, 47m | CPU: 7% | MEM: 5240MB of 12279MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:05 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:48 am

Posts
635

Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, North America, Earth, Universe

Favourite OS
Windows 8 - 6.2.8102 - Pre-Beta
I tried to format a drive as Protogon (for no reason) in WDP, and, this happened:
Image
:o :o :o
So, can you format as Protogon in WDP?
That partition is 97.6 GB (out of 930 GB) big.
Can I?

_________________
6.1.7850 - September 22, 2010
6.2.7927 - Febuary 14, 2011
6.2.7955 - Febuary 28, 2011
6.2.7959 - March 7, 2011
6.2.7989 - April 21, 2011
6.2.8102 - August 30, 2011
Beta Escrow? 6.2.81xx - 12?/DD/2011
Beta 6.2.8xxx - MM/DD/2012?
RC 6.2.8xxx - MM/DD/2012
Final 6.2.8??? - MM/DD/201?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:16 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5905
Did you run the command prompt in Admin mode?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:18 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:27 am

Posts
340

Favourite OS
6.00.5112
Protogon was disabled for WDP build, don't you know? Try 79xx.


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:51 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:28 pm

Posts
4404
For some reason, even when I fully disabled UAC in 8102, it still was present, I had to run some apps in Administrator mode.
Try running cmd.exe as Admin and see what happens.

_________________
Longhorn Packet 1.21 - Solves most of the problems with Longhorn Setup
[GUIDE] How to dump clean/untouched images from CD discs
Longhorn Music Album (FLAC) | 523.31 MB | 17 tracks | Donators Discussion Forum


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:51 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:50 pm

Posts
1777
Even the so called "Protogon" file system could not be enabled in the public Windows Developer Preview, 6.2.8102.winmain_win8m3, here is the code to enable it in other Windows 8 M2 - up builds

Code:
format X: /FS Protogon /Q


Where "X:" is the drive that you want to format. You also need to run the Command Promt with administration rights.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:23 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:48 am

Posts
635

Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, North America, Earth, Universe

Favourite OS
Windows 8 - 6.2.8102 - Pre-Beta
Thanks, but it says:
"Format Failed.
Format Failed
C:\>"
So, I don't know if its allowed, or not, even while running cmd in "Admin".

_________________
6.1.7850 - September 22, 2010
6.2.7927 - Febuary 14, 2011
6.2.7955 - Febuary 28, 2011
6.2.7959 - March 7, 2011
6.2.7989 - April 21, 2011
6.2.8102 - August 30, 2011
Beta Escrow? 6.2.81xx - 12?/DD/2011
Beta 6.2.8xxx - MM/DD/2012?
RC 6.2.8xxx - MM/DD/2012
Final 6.2.8??? - MM/DD/201?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:49 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:50 pm

Posts
1777
Read the first three lines from previous post.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:18 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:48 am

Posts
635

Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, North America, Earth, Universe

Favourite OS
Windows 8 - 6.2.8102 - Pre-Beta
Andrew Tapferke wrote:
Read the first three lines from previous post.

This, was before that post. (In the morning (Canada Central ;) ))

_________________
6.1.7850 - September 22, 2010
6.2.7927 - Febuary 14, 2011
6.2.7955 - Febuary 28, 2011
6.2.7959 - March 7, 2011
6.2.7989 - April 21, 2011
6.2.8102 - August 30, 2011
Beta Escrow? 6.2.81xx - 12?/DD/2011
Beta 6.2.8xxx - MM/DD/2012?
RC 6.2.8xxx - MM/DD/2012
Final 6.2.8??? - MM/DD/201?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:17 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 02, 2011 6:33 am

Posts
82

Location
United States

Favourite OS
Windows 8 Build 7955
Pwned wrote:
For some reason, even when I fully disabled UAC in 8102, it still was present, I had to run some apps in Administrator mode.
Try running cmd.exe as Admin and see what happens.

You have to disable UAC from the registry (with EnableLUA). Just look up how to do it for Vista or 7 for specifics :)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:53 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Online

Joined
Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:31 am

Posts
928

Favourite OS
Windows 7 SP1 64bit
Is protogon even real ?

I`ve seen a lot of conflicting info

_________________
Image
"The people who know, wont say, and the people who say, don't know."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:05 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6406

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
It exists and functions - you can try it yourself in the leaked 79xx builds, but beyond that, there's very little information on it. Poking around in the files suggests that it might use some database-like structure, since it uses database terminology like rows and columns far more than it does traditional filesystem terminology. It doesn't seem to offer anything new though at this stage.

_________________
You can contact me through a PM on AthemeNet, or by highlighting me on #nttalk.
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:09 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Online

Joined
Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:31 am

Posts
928

Favourite OS
Windows 7 SP1 64bit
hounsell wrote:
It exists and functions - you can try it yourself in the leaked 79xx builds, but beyond that, there's very little information on it. Poking around in the files suggests that it might use some database-like structure, since it uses database terminology like rows and columns far more than it does traditional filesystem terminology. It doesn't seem to offer anything new though at this stage.


Probably end up like WinFS did.

_________________
Image
"The people who know, wont say, and the people who say, don't know."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:48 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6406

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
WinFS was more a SQL-powered extension to NTFS. You'd have to go back to before WinFS (Cairo/OFS) to get a seperate filesystem.

_________________
You can contact me through a PM on AthemeNet, or by highlighting me on #nttalk.
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:04 am 
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:00 am

Posts
11
Looks like the good old NTFS is going to die...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:09 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:48 am

Posts
635

Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, North America, Earth, Universe

Favourite OS
Windows 8 - 6.2.8102 - Pre-Beta
Izareus wrote:
Looks like the good old NTFS is going to die...

No, not likely. FAT died in like 2000 or 2001 or something. The first NTFS OS was NT 3.1... IN 1992/1993 (MS-DOS -- 1981 - 2000 (19 yrs.) | FAT -- 1985 - 2000 (15 yrs.)| NTFS -- 1992/93 - Today (19 yrs.))

_________________
6.1.7850 - September 22, 2010
6.2.7927 - Febuary 14, 2011
6.2.7955 - Febuary 28, 2011
6.2.7959 - March 7, 2011
6.2.7989 - April 21, 2011
6.2.8102 - August 30, 2011
Beta Escrow? 6.2.81xx - 12?/DD/2011
Beta 6.2.8xxx - MM/DD/2012?
RC 6.2.8xxx - MM/DD/2012
Final 6.2.8??? - MM/DD/201?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:38 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:56 am

Posts
6087
Taylorover9000 wrote:
No, not likely. FAT died in like 2000 or 2001 or something.

FAT16 has been dead since about 1998, but FAT32 is still alive to this day:
Image

_________________
Goodbye.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:42 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue May 03, 2011 4:23 pm

Posts
715

Favourite OS
NT 6.05.3718.0
Izareus wrote:
Looks like the good old NTFS is going to die...


looks like you don't know what you talk about

_________________
Pat Bateman: I'm into murders and executions.
Les Grossman: Or you can grow a conscience in the next 5 minutes and see where that takes you.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:36 pm 
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:29 pm

Posts
28

Favourite OS
Lion
Protogon are removed from WDP, but present in newer compilation.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:36 am 
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:15 am

Posts
6

Favourite OS
Windows 7 SP1 6701
Protogon is disabled on Windows Developer Preview. Good 'ol microsoft makes us wait untill Consumer Preview >_<... If it even gets to that, haven't heard much talk about it :/


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:01 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5905
It makes sense to enable it in private builds for internal testing and disable it in public builds until it's really ready...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:14 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
4088

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
Also, is there any information about it being ready for such a major public release as the Consumer Preview (for example, a news item)?

Finally, what are the details surrounding Protogon's release for the Client and Server counterparts of Windows 8/Server 8?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: [Help?] Protogon System in WDP.        Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:19 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5905
No, but it's speculated to be the codename/temporary name for ReFS which is described in this article...

PS: I am NOT making any claims, it's just my speculation based on common sense and logic...


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2014

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS