BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 15d, 13h, 41m | CPU: 35% | MEM: 6386MB of 12279MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Networking with WfW 3.11 on VPC?        Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:14 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:58 pm

Posts
1382

Location
Portugal

Favourite OS
Windows 7, 8
I've set it all up, graphics drivers, CDROM etc but I fail to make networking work with Virtual PC 2007. I'm 100% sure I've done it before but it keeps saying the network is unresponsive or something. TCP/IP, networks cards, all configured... but I dunno if it's right.

I followed this tuto http://blogs.msdn.com/b/virtual_pc_guy/ ... al-pc.aspx

Here's my settings:
Image
Haven't installed IE5 yet.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Networking with WfW 3.11 on VPC?        Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:17 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:38 pm

Posts
69

Location
France

Favourite OS
Windows 7
Here's a tuto for you: http://tombcore.free.fr/win3board/viewtopic.php?p=80633#p80633

Translation:
Quote:
III. And the network

We need three things:

* The TCP / IP stack
Protected Message:
http://millenniumribbons.free.fr/Telech ... tcp32b.exe
* The card driver
Protected Message:
http://millenniumribbons.free.fr/Telech ... d2_300.zip
* And Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0
Protected Message:
http://tombcore.free.fr/download.php?id=602


The following is taken away.

* Extract tcp32b.exe in C: \ TCP
* Go into the Windows Setup> Options> Change the configuration of the Network
* Please select "Networks"
* Click on "Install Windows support for the following network only"
* Choose "Network Unlisted or updated"
* Enter in the dialog box "C: \ TCP"
* Extract Nd2_300.zip in C: \ Nd2
* Return to the main screen of the network configuration
* Then go to "Managers"
* Then, Adding a Network Manager
* Then "Add a network adapter is not listed or updated"
* To continue, in the dialog box, set the path "C: \ Nd2"
* Select "Intel 2104x adapt" and confirm.
* To continue, click on "Add Protocol"
* Can "Adding a protocol not listed or updated"
* To continue, in the dialog box, set the path "C: \ TCP"
* Confirm and select "Microsoft TCP/IP-32 3.11b" and confirm again.
* Click on TCP / IP and set the default
* Then, choose "Install"
* Check "Enable Automatic DHCP Configuration" and configure the network as below.
o Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
o DNS
+ Computer Name: As you wish.
+ The area: Ignore it
+ DNS: Ignore it.
* Go into Properties and then click on "Advanced" and check "Enable DNS for Windows Name Resolution"
* Double click on "OK"
* When it asks for a driver, set this path "C: \ TCP"
* Restart


Bonus: Put Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0 $

* Get Internet Explorer 5.0
Protected Message:
http://tombcore.free.fr/win3board/viewt ... ?f=4&t=109
* Install
* When the modem configuration window appears, click "Cancel"
* Reboot when it ask
* Not running Internet Explorer 5.0
* Go to Control Panel, then Internet.
* In the Connections tab, a warning message warning that no modem is installed is displayed.
* Close it and then select "Your network or other Dialer.
* Set other options as you like before you close the Internet properties.
* Restart the computer.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Networking with WfW 3.11 on VPC?        Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:52 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:58 pm

Posts
1382

Location
Portugal

Favourite OS
Windows 7, 8
Still nothing. I did everything as it's on the other tut (Just like that) and followed that tut for DNS and gateways but nothing. :S

Shows me this:
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Networking with WfW 3.11 on VPC?        Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:52 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:29 pm

Posts
88

Location
/dev/full, TX, USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4 (Build 2195)
What is your vpc networking settings?

_________________
CONNECT 26400/24000/V34/LAPM/V42B
Yes, I live in an area without competent digital communications services. [The DSL is crap, and there's no fibre service in my town]


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject: Re: Networking with WfW 3.11 on VPC?        Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:37 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:58 pm

Posts
1382

Location
Portugal

Favourite OS
Windows 7, 8
Tried every, currently it's NAT.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Networking with WfW 3.11 on VPC?        Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:57 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:29 pm

Posts
88

Location
/dev/full, TX, USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4 (Build 2195)
Have you tried directly connecting to your NIC/adapter?
Such as:
<Intel 82559 Fast Ethernet Controller> (the first entry on the list)
BTW, the example on the top is MY adapter.............

-R

_________________
CONNECT 26400/24000/V34/LAPM/V42B
Yes, I live in an area without competent digital communications services. [The DSL is crap, and there's no fibre service in my town]


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject: Re: Networking with WfW 3.11 on VPC?        Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 3:50 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:58 pm

Posts
1382

Location
Portugal

Favourite OS
Windows 7, 8
Still nothing :S I'll try to do everything from the start.

Edit: I did and there's no error now and I could login with user/pass but I can't seem to access the Internet.
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Networking with WfW 3.11 on VPC?        Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 11:01 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 29, 2010 4:47 am

Posts
24

Location
/dev/null

Favourite OS
950C
If you get EMM386.EXE loaded in your config.sys, try disabling it.
EMM386 causes lots of problems in VM.

BTW, leave the gateway blank - or change it to 192.168.1.1 if you're using NAT.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Networking with WfW 3.11 on VPC?        Posted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:02 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:29 pm

Posts
88

Location
/dev/full, TX, USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4 (Build 2195)
Spider-vice wrote:

Edit: I did and there's no error now and I could login with user/pass but I can't seem to access the Internet.

Still nothing :S I'll try to do everything from the start.

Edit: I did and there's no error now and I could login with user/pass but I can't seem to access the Internet.
Image


You need to remove that from PROTOCOL.INI (quick search for all files containing "CFGDRVR0" will turn up PROTOCOL.INI).

It is totally harmless as it is an useless driver entry.
(Or you can just simply ignore it.)

-R

_________________
CONNECT 26400/24000/V34/LAPM/V42B
Yes, I live in an area without competent digital communications services. [The DSL is crap, and there's no fibre service in my town]


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2014

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS