BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 8d, 3h, 31m | CPU: 27% | MEM: 4920MB of 12279MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:58 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:58 am

Posts
146

Favourite OS
Win 7 RTM SP1/Win 8 RTM
Hello all,

I have been using Windows 7 since the first leak and it is wonderful. But for some reason today I am having problems with Windows and my RAM. I have 3 gigs installed, and Windows says that is sees 3 gigs RAM, but for some reason, it is only using 1 gig of it. It is making my system REALLLLLLLY slow. In safe mode it is a good speed because it is only using around 600 megs.

Does anyone know why my Windows 7 is doing this and also if there is a fix for it?

William


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:16 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Online

Joined
Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:35 am

Posts
1100

Favourite OS
Windows Neptune Build 5111
how did you ascertain that your windows is only using 1gb ?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:22 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:58 am

Posts
146

Favourite OS
Win 7 RTM SP1/Win 8 RTM
Taskmanager ----> Performance. It shows you there the amount of RAM you are using and it has been steadily at around 900megs to 1 gigs which before it would be around 1.6 gigs to 2.2 gigs.


dans34 wrote:
how did you ascertain that your windows is only using 1gb ?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:25 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:56 am

Posts
6087
How much RAM you are using doesn't mean that's how much RAM is in your computer. A better way to tell is to look at the Physical Memory section of Task Manager:

Code:
Physical Memory (MB)
Total 2046
Cached 674
Available 810
Free 174

_________________
Goodbye.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:29 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:58 am

Posts
146

Favourite OS
Win 7 RTM SP1/Win 8 RTM
This is what it says:
Code:
Physical Memory (MB)
Total 3062
Cached 1058
Available 2140
Free 1174
[/quote]
It is holding at a steady 1.00 GB and it says Physical Memory 33% and thats not moving either. Again it has NEVER done this till this morning. Is there a setting to limit any of this?


linuxlove wrote:
How much RAM you are using doesn't mean that's how much RAM is in your computer. A better way to tell is to look at the Physical Memory section of Task Manager:

Code:
Physical Memory (MB)
Total 2046
Cached 674
Available 810
Free 174


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:34 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Online

Joined
Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:35 am

Posts
1100

Favourite OS
Windows Neptune Build 5111
limit what ?

why do you want your windows insall to use more than it is ?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:36 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:28 pm

Posts
4403
If sysdm.cpl doesn't say that 1 GB is usable, but still sees 3 GB, it's fine.

Image

_________________
Longhorn Packet 1.21 - Solves most of the problems with Longhorn Setup
[GUIDE] How to dump clean/untouched images from CD discs
Longhorn Music Album (FLAC) | 523.31 MB | 17 tracks | Donators Discussion Forum


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:49 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:58 am

Posts
146

Favourite OS
Win 7 RTM SP1/Win 8 RTM
I want it to use all the RAM it needs to use. Meaning, before once fully booted it was useing around 1.8 gigs and it goes up and down according to what it is doing. Now (With no change on my end), it is never going above 1 gig. I was asking if something in windows might have been changed to only allow it to use 1 gig even tho 3 gigs are available to it.

dans34 wrote:
limit what ?

why do you want your windows insall to use more than it is ?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:27 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6384

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
It's simply not needing to use any more.

Vista was actually quite a bit more aggressive with RAM usage, but they toned it back in Win7 because people didn't like Task Manager telling them all their RAM was being used even if it made little difference, and when it did, it was a positive gain.

A computer can be slow for a whole number of reasons though. For general sluggishness, I'd be checking to make sure nothings hogging the processor or hard drive bandwidth (Many AVs are good at hogging both).

_________________
You can contact me through a PM on AthemeNet, or by highlighting me on #nttalk.
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:55 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 15, 2012 7:40 pm

Posts
18

Favourite OS
4008
Windows will only use the RAM that is required to use. As you run more resources and applications so will the amount of ram you are using will increase inline with this.

It is always better to have masses of resources available for when you do need it rather than hitting 99% used just running at idle.

T


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:33 am

Posts
16

Favourite OS
Windows 7 6.1 (SP1)
Load RAM with more programs!Why should Windows use all RAM?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:02 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5905
I have a simmilar problem, but here it says 4.00 GB (3.80 GB usable)... Though it doesn't bother me much as it's only 200 MB and I rarely manage to use 100% of the available ram. I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:10 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 15, 2012 7:40 pm

Posts
18

Favourite OS
4008
DeFacto wrote:
I have a simmilar problem, but here it says 4.00 GB (3.80 GB usable)... Though it doesn't bother me much as it's only 200 MB and I rarely manage to use 100% of the available ram. I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit.


Does your PC have a built in graphics card?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:33 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5905
It's a laptop with switchable graphics; one is a built-in Intel "HD" Graphics the other is an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:05 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12002

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
That's why. The Intel graphics will be using some of the memory for itself.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Problem with Win 7 and RAM        Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:07 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:14 am

Posts
1374

Location
Orange County, California

Favourite OS
OSX 10.8 Dev 4
DeFacto wrote:
I have a simmilar problem, but here it says 4.00 GB (3.80 GB usable)... Though it doesn't bother me much as it's only 200 MB and I rarely manage to use 100% of the available ram. I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit.


Your onboard graphics chipset actually feeds off of the RAM you have. Which is normal by the way.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2014

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS